Posted by: dvolpe | March 6, 2010

Exactly How Old is NBA Referee Dick Bavetta?

NBA Official and Iron Man, Dick Bavetta

While watching a recent Pistons game, I caught a shot of referee Dick Bavetta and wondered, exactly how old is that guy? I can’t remember a time when I was watching a basketball game and Dick Bavetta wasn’t an NBA referee. There’s a reason for that. Dick Bavetta has been a professional refree since 1975. Which is one year before I was born. That means that even if I had watched my first basketball on the day I was born, I still could not have watched a game in the pre-Bavetta era. The average NBA career is 5 years in length. Bavetta has refereed for 7 careers of that length. If he was a player he could have retired as a player, become a coach and retired as a coach by now. Not only that but in all that time, he has reportedly never missed an assigned game. Take that Cal Ripken Jr.

One of the single greatest examples of durability, reliability, professionalism, and likeability in any sport. It will be a sad day indeed when he retires, but at the rate he’s going, I’m not sure how many of us will be around to see it when he does.

Responses

  1. REFS. SHOULD CALL ALL FOULS ALIKE. NOT BECAUSE OF STAR OF THE GAME . I’VE SEEN SOME PRETTY BAD CALLS IN THE LAST THREE GAMES.


Leave a Reply

Categories

